Firecracker Mile

Thanks for coming out and running on the 4th. We hope to see everyone next year!

2017 Firecracker Mile Results

The OUR Credit Union Combined 5k/1-mile winners this year were:

Tony Filipek

Paul Aufdemberge

Dani Filipek

Cindy Jacklin

The 2018 Firecracker Mile

is one of the best miles in Midwest. Whether you are racing for a cash prize, trophy, medal, or for the joy of the run, this is the race for you.


Wednesday July 4, 2018

Packet Pickup and Race-day Registration will be from 7:45 a.m. to 8:45 a.m. in the CVS parking lot at the corner of Crooks and 14 Mile.

The race will start at 9:00 a.m. Arrive early because 14 Mile Rd. will close about 8:30 a.m.

Parking is available either behind the Red Olive restaurant (in the same shopping center as CVS), or at the Kyoto restaurant parking lot (just west of Crooks on 14),

or at the end of the race (east of Main, or south of 14 so you aren't trapped by the parade).

The Course

This is a USATF certified (2009) flat mile. The race starts at Crooks Rd. and runs straight down 14 Mile Rd. to the finish line at Main Street. Thousands of spectators and fans line the entire course to cheer you throughout the run.


Splits are read after each quarter mile. Chip timing with video verficiation by Eastside Racing Company will provide official times for all runners.


In addition to cash prizes, trophies will be awarded to the top 3 men and top 3 women.

Medals will be awarded to the top 50 men and top 50 women.

T-shirts for all pre-registered runners.

OUR Credit Union--Clawson Runs Prize

Because of OUR Credit Union's sponsorship we are able to offer a $100 prize for top combined finishers in the 5k Freedom Run and the Firecracker Mile.

The prize will be awarded in 4 categories: Women under 40, Women 40 and over, Men under 40, and Men 40 and over.

Runners who compete in both events will have their overall finish places summed and the runners with the lowest score will win. In the event of a tie the tying runner with the lowest combined time will win.

Registration Fee

The pre-registration fee is only $12 until May 31st.

The registration goes to $15 after May 31st until race day.

Race day registration is $20. T-shirts will be available to race-day registrants on a first come-first-serve basis until they are gone.

Results from Previous Years

2016 Firecracker Mile Results


Thanks for coming out and celebrating the 4th of July with us.

Great weather, great crowds, and great runners made for a fun race this year.

Click here for the 2015 Results

2013 Firecracker Mile Age Group Results

2013 Firecracker Mile Overall Results

Merlin Elsner was at 2013 race taking pictures. You can find the photo gallery at, or by following the link below.

2013 Firecracker Mile Photos

2012 Firecracker Mile Results